Stephen Covey on Three Constants in Life!

There are three constants in life… change, choice and principles.    Stephen Covey

I remember at one point in my life about 5 years ago when I was working with high-risk and at-risk youth.  I felt that my job had so much value, and I built so much value for myself in that position that I give 110% of my waking and sleeping time to those kids and families.  After about 3.5 years I found myself rushing home from work on a warm, breezy, Northwest spring evening.  Now I love the spring after a rainy, slushy northwest winter.  The new green starting to appear on the trees on both sides of the Columbia River, as I looked at the snow-capped Mt. Hood.  The promise of hope from the wet, and being able to really enjoy the outdoors again.  I was at a point of exhaustion that my best hope was that we had no social engagements for the weekend and that I could get in as many naps as possible.  I just wanted nothing.  No talking, doing or other activity.  I just wanted to hole up and be alone.

Change came from the choice Covey speaks about, and this Clean and Simple idea started to percolate like a fresh pot of coffee in my mind.  More to come.

Leave a comment